T: 0151 707 4545

VSL Special Edition Collection Vol.3

£290.00 £241.67 (ex. vat)

VSL Special Edition Collection Vol.3

  • VSL Special Edition Collection Vol.3

VSL Special Edition Collection Vol.3

The Vienna Special Edition Volume 3 (“Appassionata & Muted Strings”) features the lush and cinematic Appassionata Strings with a wide variety of playing techniques in normal and muted variations, and also focuses on “con sordino“ (muted) recordings of the Solo Strings and Chamber Strings. Additionally, you’ll find an alternative Harp to the one included in the Special Edition Volume 1.

All instruments include Vienna Symphonic Library’s famed Legato Performances – real note transitions, smoothly and authentically performed by the algorithms of the Vienna Instruments software player.

If you’ve already purchased Special Edition Volume 1 or Volume 2 and want to expand it with especially lyrical, silky shimmering string sounds, this Volume is the perfect choice. By the way, did you know that you can achieve particularly warm and lush string pads by combining “normal” strings with “con sordino” layers?

Your purchase of the Special Edition Volume 3 entitles you to download the free Vienna Instruments player software that includes the Vienna Ensemble mixing and host software.

Included Instruments

Appassionata violins (20 players) – normal & “con sordino”
Appassionata violas (14 players) – normal & “con sordino”
Appassionata cellos (12 players) – normal & “con sordino”
Appassionata double basses (10 players) – normal & “con sordino”

Solo violin – “con sordino”
Solo viola – “con sordino”
Solo cello – “con sordino”
Solo double bass – “con sordino”

Violin chamber ensemble (6 players) – “con sordino”
Viola chamber ensemble (4 players) – “con sordino”
Cello chamber ensemble (3 players) – “con sordino”
Double bass chamber ensemble (2 players) – “con sordino”

Harp 2

Appassionata strings (normal and muted) Staccato, détaché, sustained, sforzato
Legato, portamento (except basses)
Tremolo, pizzicato
Solo strings (muted), Chamber strings (muted) Staccato, détaché, sustained, sforzato
Legato, portamento
Tremolo, pizzicato
Harp 2 Single notes, normal and harmonics


System Requirements:

  • PC Windows 7 (latest Service Pack, 32/64-bit), Intel Core 2 Duo or AMD Athlon 64 X2
  • Mac OS X 10.8 (latest update), Intel Core 2 Duo
  • 2 GB RAM (4 GB recommended)
  • ViennaKey (Vienna Symphonic Library USB protection device) or other USB eLicenser (e.g., from Steinberg or Arturia)
  • eLicenser Control Center software (get the latest version from
  • 28.7 GB free hard drive space
  • Other configurations may work but are not actively supported.


  • PC Windows 7 (latest Service Pack, 64-bit), Intel i5/i7/Xeon
  • Mac OS X 10.9 (latest update), i5/i7/Xeon
  • Fast separate hard drive (7200 rpm or faster)
  • AU/VST/AAX Native/RTAS compatible host (also works stand-alone)
  • RTAS version requires Pro Tools 7.3 or higher
  • AAX version requires Pro Tools 10.3.5 or higher
  • 88 key master keyboard
Manufacturer VSL Instruments
Model VSL Special Edition Collection Vol.3
VSL Instruments
VSL Instruments
VSL Special Edition Collection Vol.3
Contact Us

Studiocare Professional Audio Ltd.

Unit 2, 56 Evans Road


L24 9PB

+44 (0) 151 707 4545
+44 (0) 845 345 8910

Opening Hours
Mon - Fri: 9:30 - 5:30
Sat - Sun: Closed

How To Find Us
Terms & Conditions
Returns Form
Repair Request

ISO 9001
Studiocare on FacebookStudiocare on TwitterStudiocare on Google+” width=Studiocare on YoutubeStudiocare on Pintrest



© Copyright Studiocare Professional Audio Ltd. 2016